Mysore tops Swachh Bharat rankings for 476 cities

Advanced 467 Reasoning Puzzles Book SBI PO 2018
Mysore city in Karnataka has topped the Swachh Bharat Rankings of 476 cities in the country with three more from the State figuring in the top 10.

West Bengal does well with 25 cities/towns from the State finding a place in the top 100 cities.

These rankings are based on the extent of open defecation and solid waste management practices in these cities.

39 cities from the Southern states are among the top 100 followed by 27 from the East, 15 from the West, 12 from the North and 7 from the North-Eastern States.

The city of Mysore leads the cities with minimal open defecation and extensive adoption of solid waste management practices.

The top 10 ranked cities being :
  1. Mysore
  2. Thiruchirapalli (Tamil Nadu)
  3. Navi Mumbai
  4. Kochi (Kerala)
  5. Hassan
  6. Mandya – Karnataka
  7. Bengaluru from Karnataka
  8. Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala)
  9. Halisahar (West Bengal)
  10. Gangtok (Sikkim)

Damoh (Madhya Pradesh) came at the bottom of 476, preceded by Bhind(MP), Palwal and Bhiwani, both in Haryana, Chittaurgarh (Rajasthan), Bulandshahar (UP), Neemuch (MP), Rewari(Haryana), Hindaun (Rajasthan) and Sambalpur in Odisha at 467th rank.

All the 476 Class-1 cities in 31 States and Union Territories, each with a population of above one lakh were surveyed for assessing total sanitation practices covering a set of parameters including the extent of open defecation, solid waste management, septage management, waste water treatment, drinking water quality, surface water quality of water bodies mortality due to water born diseases etc.

The survey conducted during 2014-15 was commissioned by the Ministry of Urban Development as required under the National Sanitation Policy of 2008.

Number of cities surveyed in major States include :
  1. UP (61),
  2. West Bengal (60),
  3. Maharashtra (43),
  4. MP(32),
  5. Gujarat (30),
  6. AP(30),
  7. Tamil Nadu(29),
  8. Rajasthan(28),
  9. Bihar (27),
  10. Karnataka (26),
  11. Haryana(20),
  12. Punjab(16),
  13. Telangana (11),
  14. Odisha (10),
  15. Jharkhand(10),
  16. Chattisgarh(9) and 6 each from Kerala, Uttarakhand and North-Eastern states.